Overview of the Michigan Competitive Scholarship

The Michigan Competitive Scholarship is a program designed to provide financial assistance to undergraduate college students to pursue their degrees at any approved Michigan college institution. This program is based on both financial need and academic achievement, thus students are required to take up standard tests in order to qualify for the said award.

This scholarship award is limited to tuition and mandatory college fees. Award monies are based on the availability of funds each year. While recipients of the scholarship may renew for each succeeding academic year, the scholarship eligibility ends as they graduate from college.


To qualify for the Michigan Competitive Scholarship, applicants should:

  • Have a qualifying score on the ACT examinations before entering college
  • Possess a high school diploma upon graduation or GED certificate
  • Display financial need
  • Enroll at an approved post-secondary college or university in Michigan
  • Be a legal resident in the State of Michigan for at least one year
  • Be a US citizen
  • Have no criminal record
  • Possess a minimum of 2.0 GPA for renewal purposes

How to Apply

Interested parties must file the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) via the www.fafsa.ed.gov. Forms are also available in the office of financial aid in high schools and colleges. In order to renew the scholarship, students should file for FAFSA renewal each academic year.

Students should also be enrolled in any of the following institutions in order to qualify for the scholarship:

  • Cornerstone University
  • Alma College
  • Marquette Gen. Hosp. Sch. of Radiography
  • Lawrence Technological University
  • Bay de Noc Community College
  • Marygrove College
  • Alpena Community College
  • Madonna University
  • Aquinas College
  • Mid Michigan Community College
  • Ave Maria College
  • Oakland University
  • Gogebic Community College
  • Monroe County Community College
  • Cleary University
  • Mott Community College
  • Concordia University
  • Davenport University
  • Saginaw Valley State University
  • Grand Valley State University
  • Kellogg Community College
  • Northwood University
  • Adrian College
  • Grace Bible College
  • North Central Michigan College
  • College for Creative Studies
  • Muskegon Community College
  • Ferris State University
  • Albion College Lewis College of Business
  • Northern Michigan University
  • Oakland Community College
  • Robert B. Miller College
  • Delta College
  • Eastern Michigan University
  • Kuyper College
  • Northwestern Michigan College
  • Central Michigan University
  • Andrews University
  • Montcalm Community College
  • Finlandia University
  • Washtenaw Community College
  • Rochester College
  • Olivet College
  • Glen Oaks Community College
  • Saint Clair County Community College
  • Kirtland Community College
  • Mercy Jackson Community College
  • Wayne County Community College
  • Macomb Community College
  • Grand Rapids Community College
  • Spring Arbor University
  • West Shore Community College
  • Sacred Heart Major Seminary
  • Bay Mills Community College
  • Michigan Jewish Institute
  • Calvin College
  • Baker College
  • Michigan State University
  • Wayne State University
  • Lake Michigan College
  • University of Michigan – Dearborn
  • Western Michigan University
  • Great Lakes Christian College
  • Lake Superior State University
  • Michigan Technological University
  • Kalamazoo Valley Community College
  • Henry Ford Community College
  • Lansing Community College
  • University of Michigan -Flint
  • Hillsdale College
  • Southwestern Michigan College
  • Walsh College
  • Schoolcraft College
  • Kettering University
  • Hope College
  • Siena Heights University
  • ITT Technical Institute
  • University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
  • Kalamazoo College
  • University of Detroit

Scholarship Application Deadline

The deadline for application of requirements is on March 1st. Late FAFSA applications are still accepted, but priority review will be given to those who submitted their papers before the mentioned date. For more information, contact the hotline 1-888-447-2687.